André Viégas
Funder of Pisco de Luz

The sad reality of a historic Quilombola community in the region of Chapada dos Veadeiros, state of Goiás, was the main drive for the project.  For generations, residents of the region have no access to electricity.  This not only limits their daily productivity and social interaction to shorter hours, but it also exposes these Brazilians to various risks, such as animal attacks and breathing hazardous fumes from the diesel oil lamps. These lamps, which they use to illuminate their homes at night has also been the cause of a number of household fires in which families have lost everything they had.

Given this scenario, we have created a low-cost solar energy system to implement in their homes.  Solar kits consist of wires, led lamps, solar panel and a controller were installed with the help of volunteers. The system also allows the monitoring of energy use through an application.  Our working model gives autonomy to local residents, so they can make installations and maintenance in their own communities.

Our solar energy model can also be easily replicated in other remote communities that still live without electricity. Funds for implementation of beginning phases of the project were provided by a number individual donors.  Pisco de Luz continues to welcome donations from individual memberships as well as corporations, and also partners with local industries to obtain components for the kits.   


Our Mission

Our mission is to bring affordable, clean and sustainable lighting solutions to low-income households so children and adults can forever extinguish diesel oil lamps, improve their health and preserve the environment for many generations to come.

Our Partnerships

Logo Sousa e Diniz_site 270x77.jpg
Website Design:

Illuminate Our Communities Today!

Follow us on social media!
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • images
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • images